Overview of Safe Credit Union

Safe Credit Union was first established in the year 1955 and is based in the state of South Carolina. The credit union currently has 19 branches and 299 employees. As of December 2021, the credit union has 127,609 members.

Who Can Join?

You are eligible to join SAFE credit union if you live, work, worship, or go to school in one of the following areas: Clarendon County, Florence County, Lee County or Sumter County. Those living in Lexington, Richland and Kershaw Counties may also be eligible for SAFE membership if their address falls within an approved census tract. If someone in your family already qualifies—then you may be eligible.

Contact Information

  • Main Office Address: P. O. Box 2008, Sumter, SC 29151
  • Website: https://www.safefed.org
  • Phone: (803) 469-8600
  • Total Members: 127,609
  • Total Assets: $1,534 million
  • Charter Number: 9988
  • Routing Number: 253279691

Based on the NCUA guidelines, this credit union is well capitalized.