Overview of Mountain Credit Union

Mountain Credit Union was first established in the year 1963 and is based in the state of North Carolina. The credit union currently has 9 branches and 67 employees. As of December 2021, the credit union has 28,550 members.

Who Can Join?

Anyone who lives, works, worships or attends school in Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Swain, and Transylvania Counties of North Carolina is eligible to join Mountain Credit Union. All federal employees located in the 20 western counties of North Carolina (Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Cherokee, Caldwell, Clay, Cleveland, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, McDowell, Macon, Madison, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, and Yancey) including field personnel who are paid from a headquarters office located in the above counties are also eligible to join. Anyone who works or lives on the Cherokee Indian Reservation and family members of current or former credit union members are also qualified for membership.

Contact Information

  • Main Office Address: P.O. Box 390, Waynesville, NC 28786
  • Website: http://www.mountaincu.org
  • Phone: (828) 456-8627
  • Total Members: 28,550
  • Total Assets: $321 million
  • Charter Number: 68531
  • Routing Number: 253174576

Based on the NCUA guidelines, this credit union is well capitalized.