Overview of Marathon County Employees Credit Union

Marathon County Employees Credit Union was first established in the year 1965 and is based in the state of Wisconsin. The credit union currently has 1 branch and 7 employees. As of December 2021, the credit union has 2,862 members.

Who Can Join?

To be eligible to join the Marathon County Employees Credit Union, one must meet any of the following categories:

  • Current or past public employees and retirees of the following:
    • North Central Health Care Facilities
    • Marathon County
    • Marathon County Special Education
    • Federal Employees
    • State Employees
    • School District Employees
    • City Employees
    • Town and Village Employees
  • Current, past or retirees working in government buildings in Marathon County
  • The members of the immediate families of each person eligible to become a member, including but are not limited to spouses, parents, children and stepchildren, whether or not they reside in the same household.
    • Additional Persons Eligible to Join:
      • Domestic Partners
      • Spouse, former spouse, parent, child, or a person related by blood or adoption to a member
      • A person currently or formerly residing in a place of abode with a member
      • A person with whom a member has a child in common
      • A person who provides in-home or community care for a member
      • A person with whom a member has or had a dating relationship
  • Any organization or association may become a member of the credit union if a majority of the shareholders, partners, members or owners thereof are eligible for membership in the credit union. Any trust may become a member if a majority of the persons who are settlor(s), a trustee(s), and beneficiary(ies) are eligible for membership in the credit union.

Contact Information

  • Main Office Address: 400 E Thomas St, Wausau, WI 54403
  • Website: https://www.mcecu.org
  • Phone: (715) 261-7680
  • Charter Number: 66466
  • Charter Year: 1965
  • Routing Number: 275982322

Based on the NCUA guidelines, this credit union is well-capitalized.

Other Credit Unions in Wisconsin

There are currently 116 credit unions operating in the state of Wisconsin and combined these credit unions have 3.6 million members. In addition to this credit union, you may also be eligible to join the following credit unions in the state: Holy Family Memorial Credit Union, Public Service Credit Union and County – City Credit Union.