Overview of Area Educational Credit Union

Area Educational Credit Union was first established in the year 1960 and is based in the state of Illinois. The credit union currently has 1 branch and 3 employees. As of December 2021, the credit union has 2,374 members.

Who Can Join?

Membership is open to any employee of the school districts listed below. Once an employee of these districts becomes a member, immediate family members may also join.

  • Arthur-Lovington
  • Charleston
  • Cumberland
  • Kansas
  • Lake Land College
  • Martinsville
  • Mattoon
  • Neoga
  • Oakland
  • Okaw Valley
  • Regional Office of Ed.
  • Shelbyville
  • Sullivan
  • Tuscola
  • Windsor

Contact Information

  • Main Office Address: 812 Charleston Ave, Mattoon, IL 61938
  • Website: https://www.myaecu.com/
  • Phone: (217) 234-7817
  • Charter Number: 62500
  • Charter Year: 1960
  • Routing Number: 271186122

Based on the NCUA guidelines, this credit union is well-capitalized.

Other Credit Unions in Illinois

There are currently 205 credit unions operating in the state of Illinois and combined these credit unions have 3.4 million members. In addition to this credit union, you may also be eligible to join the following credit unions in the state: Oak Lawn Municipal Employees Credit Union, Maroon Financial Credit Union and Illinois Valley Credit Union.